Chocolate Peanut Butter Truffles

September 19, 2016

Dear Friend and my sweet nieces,

One reality of our lifestyle is the fact that the boys and Joel still have work to do. I finished my portion of responsibilities first; schooling the kids, laundry, dishes, picking up a bit, etc. So, what should I do while I wait? Without being able to have computer access, I found this time great for cooking. Typically, I boil noodles, cut vegetables, or other meal preparation that become time consuming, but today was different. It was rainy, so I decided to do something yummy for the family. Chocolate Peanut Butter Truffles!

This was a new recipe for me to try. It was delightfully simple, fast, and quite forgiving as I decided I didn’t feel like measuring and I halved the original recipe as well. I recommend this recipe to even my youngest of nieces to whip up some time. Don’t forget to try some options instead of the powdered sugar. Enjoy!

***********************************************
(K, G, E, M, & A; this is for you girls!)

CHOCOLATE PEANUT BUTTER TRUFFLES (taken from the Kraft’s food & family magazine with my own editorials added)

Prep: 20 min
Total time: 1 hour 20 min (Including Refrigerating)

1 pkg (8 squares) semi-sweet Baking Chocolate (Or 1 and 1/3 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips)
1/2 cup peanut butter
1 tub (8oz) Cool Whip Whipped Topping, thawed

1/4 cup powdered sugar*

Microwave chocolate in large microwaveable bowl on HIGH 2 min. or until chocolate is almost melted, stirring after 1 minute. (This is the trickiest step, so I would recommend stirring every 15-30 seconds to make sure the chocolate does not burn. It is better to melt it slower than too fast.) Stir until chocolate is completely melted.
Stir in peanut butter until well blended. Cool to room temperature. (This will take at least 5 minutes. Feel the bowl and make sure it is cool enough for you to touch it easily. You don’t want the cool whip to melt into it.)
Gently stir in whipped topping.
Refrigerate 1 hour.
Meanwhile, lick the spoon while you wait. (This is supposed to be fun and yummy, right?)
Scoop the mixture with a melon baller or teaspoon and form small balls. (Try not to roll it too long, or else the mixture will start melting in your hands.)
Roll balls in powdered sugar*
Store in the refrigerator.

*Powdered sugar is only one of several options you may experiment with. Like any experiment, it is important to make lots of variations and lots of batches. I used a cinnamon/sugar mixture. Here are a few other ideas:
Finely chopped pecans, sweetened coconut, candy sprinkles, grated semi-sweet or white baking chocolate, crushed cookies, or crushed graham crackers.

Makes 3 dozen, or 2 servings of 18 truffles each (but don’t get sick or tell your parents that I told you to eat that much at one time).

Until we meet again,

Regina
a.k.a. the “Favorite Auntie”

One thought on “Chocolate Peanut Butter Truffles

Leave a Reply

