French Silk Pie

October 12, 2016

Dear Friends,

On our way to Pennsylvania, we swung through Connecticut to meet up with a wonderful college friend. It has been over 12 years since we were able to spend any time together. I enjoyed catching up with her. In the end, she gave me a dozen chicken eggs from her flock. I told her how special those fresh eggs were to me. My boys’ eyes lit up at that moment. They hoped Mom would once again make her French Silk Pie the way she used to.

I don’t really care for the normal baked pie crust so I often find other ways to serve the filling. In the past I have served it in a graham cracker crust, sometimes with other spices mixed in like cinnamon. I have also made and hollowed out an angel food cake to place the filling inside. This time I took the decorative route to represent New York City as we had just visited there recently. I placed banana pieces on the bottom, covered it with the French Silk pie filling, and then topped it off with a bunch of graham crackers to represent the sky scrapers.

Yes, the eggs are uncooked and have potential to be unsafe. So do this at your own risk. I initially received this recipe from my college roommate many years ago. She was a 100% country-loving, farm girl who grew up with fresh laid eggs daily. As for me, I only made this recipe when I had my own egg layers (or my friend’s eggs). But for tradition’s sake, here’s the recipe below:

Until we meet again,

Regina
**********************************************

French Silk Pie (raw egg version)

1 stick of butter (8 Tbsp), room temperature
3/4 c. sugar
1 chocolate packet or cooled, melted 3 oz.(or even a lot more, hee, hee) chocolate chips
1 tsp. vanilla
2 eggs
Pre-baked pie crust
Whipped cream
chocolate stars

Beat the first 4 ingredients together. Then add one egg, beat on high speed for 5 minutes. Add the second egg and beat an additional 5 minutes. Pour into finished pie crust. Top with whipped cream and decorate with chocolate stars.

One thought on “French Silk Pie

Leave a Reply

